Coronavirus Information på dansk / Information in English

About – University of Copenhagen

About the congress

The congress is organized by the International Alliance of Research Universities (IARU) through a Scientific Steering Committee (SSC) and a Local Organizing Committee (LOC). It is a follow-up from the inaugural climate congress held in 2009 in conjunction with COP-15 in Copenhagen. 

Scientific Steering Committee

The Scientific Steering Committee is chaired by Professor Katherine Richardson from the Sustainability Science Centre, University of Copenhagen.

Professor Katherine Richardson
Leader of Sustainability Science Centre
University of Copenhagen

Professor Bin Lu
Director for Dept. of Urban and Regional Planning
Peking University

Professor Daniel Kammen
Director for Renewable and Appropriate Energy Laboratory
University of California, Berkeley

Professor Jim Hall
Director for Environmental Change Institute

University of Oxford

Professor Keisuke Hanaki
Adjunct professor of Integrated Research System for Sustainability Science
Graduate School of Engineering
University of Tokyo

Professor Ong Choon Nam
Director for Environmental Research Institute
National University of Singapore

Professor Mark Pagani

Former Director of the Yale Climate and Energy Institute

Professor Peter Guthrie
Director for Centre for Sustainable Development
Cambridge University

Professor René Schwarzenbach
Associate Vice President for Sustainability
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zürich

Dr. Robert Dyball
Fenner School of Environment & Society
Australian National University


Local Organising Committee

The Local Organising Committee is chaired by Director Niels Elers Koch, Faculty of Science, University of Copenhagen. Head of secretariat is Lykke Hindsgaul, Faculty of Science, University of Copenhagen.

Story of the logo

A green and blue circle represents the Earth; land areas as well as oceans, that throughout history has provided humanity with resources believed to have an endless limit. For more information visit our site about the official logo of the IARU Sustainability Science Congress